The Gift

mandela the gardener

“Prior to my election as President of the United States, I had the great privilege of meeting Mandela, and since taking office I have spoken with him occasionally by phone.

mandela the lawyer

The conversations are usually brief – he is in the twilight of his years, and I am faced with the busy schedule that comes with my office. But always, in those conversations, there are moments when the kindness, and generosity, and wisdom of the man shines through. Those are the moments when I am reminded that underneath the history that has been made, there is a human being who chose hope over fear – progress over the prisons of the past. And I am reminded that even as he has become a legend, to know the man – Nelson Mandela – is to respect him even more.”

proud mandela

(from Barack Obama’s foreword to NELSON MANDELA : CONVERSATIONS WITH MYSELF, published by MacMillan in 2010)

With special thanks to my sister, brother and Godchild.

And to Tata Madiba

And our Lord Jesus Christ

* Look forward to my next post, The Habit

Leave a Reply

